News > Articles > April 2018 > MKC Announces 2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients

MKC Announces 2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients

Apr 23, 2018

MKC is pleased to announce the 2018 MKC Scholarship Program recipients. Ten high school seniors and ten college students have been selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year. Since 2008, a total of $104,000 has been award through the MKC Scholarship Program.
“The MKC Scholarship Program is one way the cooperative can help support exceptional students who someday soon will enter the workforce to make a difference in the industry and communities where their career paths take them,” said Dave Christiansen, MKC president and CEO. “The number of talented young men and women applying for our scholarship program increases each year making the selection process more difficult each year. We are honored to help these young students financially.”
This year, more than 150 students submitted applications. Scholarship recipients were selected based on academic achievements, leadership, honors, and extracurricular activities. Along with the application, students were asked to submit an essay about the impact of the cooperative system on their community and an essay outlining their college and career goals.
Students who received the scholarship addressed key aspects of the cooperative system such as how it benefits producers, what belonging to a cooperative system means to the producer and how co-ops create a community environment among the local producers and employees.
High school students awarded scholarships are: Nathan Enns, Inman High School; Maxwell Harmon, Inman High School; Corbin Jones, Council Grove High School; Alyssa Leslie, Inman High School; Ashton McGinn, Sedgwick High School; Emily Meier, Goessel High School; Laura Mitchell, Newton High School; Ashley Nightingale, Canton Galva High School; Kaitlyn Owens, Hesston High School; and Morgan Poole, Council Grove High School.
College students awarded scholarships are: Katelyn Bohnenblust, Kansas State University; Keren Duerksen, Kansas State University; Morgan Gantz, Kansas State University; Gabryelle Gilliam, Kansas State University; Jacob Grinstead, Kansas State University; Suzanne Huntley, Kansas State University; John Kennedy, Kansas State University; Janae McKinney, Kansas State University; Brityne Rucker, Kansas State University; and Riley Sleichter, Kansas State University.


Read More News

Apr 17, 2018
Seed performance is at the heart of your farm's success. All growers want to end the season in the best possible position they can yield-wise, and the only way to do that is to get the plant...
Apr 05, 2018
MOUNDRIDGE, Kan. The 2018 MKC Women's Meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 3 at the Atrium Hotel and Conference Center in Hutchinson, Kansas
Apr 04, 2018
MOUNDRIDGE, Kan. Throughout April, MKC employees are joining together to help fill the shelves of area food banks through their sixth annual food drive.